Ed Dressler Award

Ed Dressler formed the Nassau County Amateur Softball Association in 1953 umpiring fast pitch softball in Metro Long Island and Jones Beach.After several years of great softball, a new game evolved in Long Island called "slow pitch" which allowed everyone to play and led to unbelieveable growth in teams and umpires ASA registrations.

Ed's association grew to 140 members and Long Island hosted National and Regional tournaments. This unprecidented growth necessitated forming a Suffolk organization to handle the demand for services. This led to the formation of the Metro Long Island ASA Association and Ed was appointed Metro Long Island Unpire-In-Chief.

In 1975 Ed was appointed Deputy U-I-C of the Mid-Atlantic ASA Region and member of the national umpiring staff. He traveled all over the country to run 58 National Tournaments. In the late 1970's, Metro LI was consolidated with Metro NY City to form what is now known as Southern NY ASA under commissioner Glen Payne. The Nassau County Association is part of Long Island District 9 and an integral part of one of the largest metro areas in the country with team and umpire registrations.

In 1977, Ed was installed into the Metro LI ASA Hall of Honor and in 1983, installed into the National Hall of Honor in Oklahoma City. Ed retired in late 1977 with over 45 years of service and he received the National ASA 'Award of Excellence'. In 1996, the Nassau umpires assocation initiated the 'Ed Dressler Award' in his honor. This award is presented annually to one of it's umpires who meets the high criteria established by the association.

Ed passed away in 2003 at the age of 78 and lived his live with a passion, making the most of what he did.

In July 2005, Nassau County Parks and Recreation dedicated field "D" at Eisenhower Park and renamed it "Ed Dressler Memorial Field" to commemorate his live and dediction softball.

Ed Dressler Annual Award Recipients

  • 2011 - 2014 - No recipient
  • 2010 - Luke Johnson
  • 2009 - John Sficos
  • 2008 - Guy Becker
  • 2007 - Sue Johnson
  • 2006 - Jim Borek
  • 2005 - Tom DeSimone
  • 2004 - Rich Petito
  • 2003 - Victor Calcano
  • 2002 - Vinnie Donnelly
  • 2001 - Bernie Soete
  • 2000 - Mike Kucklinca
  • 1999 - Ted Pollock Sr
  • 1998 - Angelo Galasso
  • 1997 - Vin Kramer
  • 1996 - Bob Kissell